Jan 26, 2015

2015 Holt Australia Day Awards

Group Photo

Anthony Byrne MP, Federal Member for Holt, honoured 30 outstanding individuals and eight local organisations for their contribution to our community on Australia Day.

The 2015 Holt Australia Day Awards were presented at the Day of Nations celebrations in Hampton Park with a large crowd of families and friends turning out to support the recipients.

‘Australia Day is a wonderful day when we can recognise those people who contribute to the community and make our community a better place’, said Mr Byrne.

The 2014 Holt Australia Day Awards were an opportunity to recognise people like TeHeapera Nikora who has been involved in the Centre for Multicultural Youth. TeHeapera is of Maori heritage and is committed to improving the perception of young people within her community in Melbourne and demonstrating cultural pride.

Not only is TeHeapera a full time Carer for her Mother but in addition to these duties she remains active in her community, something she has been doing since a young age.
Due to her passions, creative ideas, and energy, TeHeapera then became employed by the Centre for Multicultural Youth as a youth facilitator for one year in 2013-2014 on a weekly basis where she co-facilitated community consultations amongst young people of diverse backgrounds, a weekly local action group and developed practical projects in the City of Casey around social cohesion. These included a sports day in partnership with schools and a short film available through social media.

Also amongst the Award Recipients were Pastors Graham & Julie Shand who have been Senior Pastors for over 25 years. During this time they have planted three churches, and currently serve as Senior Pastors at the Casey Life Church in Hampton Park.

Each year both Graham & Julie help to organise a number of local community events such as the Carols by Candlelight in Hampton Park. These holy Carols are held at the Cairns Rd Reserve in Hampton Park each year and thousands of people come to enjoy a wonderful night of music and entertainment. Senior pastors Graham and Julie Shand are passionate about reaching out to the community, and under their leadership the church welcomes everyone with open arms.

Another recipient worthy of mention is Tim Howell who joined the SES 15 years ago in the Nunawading Unit before moving to the Narre Warren Unity 6 years ago where after only 1 year he was appointed controller, a position he continued to hold for 2 ½ years.

After some time off Tim returned to the Narre Warren SES Unit and now serves as the Deputy Controller of Administration, a position he has held for the last 12 months.

In 2012 Tim was awarded the National Emergency Medal for his role as an SES Volunteer in the Black Saturday Bushfires in Kinglake and for a local fire in Narre Warren
In addition to volunteering with the SES, Tim works for Vic Roads as part of the emergency response team helping those in need on our roads.

“I congratulate all those receiving a Holt Australia Day Award for their exemplary community spirit and endless hours of volunteer work making our community a better and safer place to live. These people do not get the same acolades as celebraties in the media but in their own quiet Australian way they do tremendous work and make other people’s lives better’, said Mr Byrne.

Media Enquires: Daniel White (03) 9796 7533

Award Recipients
• Casey Lowen
• Charles Geriesi
• David Esmore
• Debra Jackson
• Elizabeth Watson
• Erin Wallace
• Glenda Colthurst
• Senior Pastors Graham & Julie Shand
• Helen Evans
• Jake Downward
• Jason Sadler
• Jennifer Corcoris & Elizabeth McLennan
• John Bell
• Rev John McMahon
• Pastor Julie Ohlson
• Margaret Luxford
• Mark Haughton
• Maryann D’Costa
• Ni Tec Leong
• Pastor Norman Cayzer
• Norman McLennan
• Inspector Paul Breen
• Sebit Tot
• Sima Mohammadzayee
• TeHeapera (Bebs) Nikora
• Tim Howell
• Vincent Manno
• Vitali Lashkariov
• Casey Regional Veterans’ Welfare Centre
• Dandenong Emir Sultan Mosque
• Inner Wheel of Cranbourne Inc
• Kane’s Crusade (Fawn Brady & Jessica White)
• Kalgidhar Sports & Cultural Association
• One Vision Aid
• South Eastern Region Oromo Community Members (Sinke Wesho, Biftu Gutama & Abdeta Hanna)
• Vision of Hope


Quick Links

Quick Link Quick Link Nation Building Australian Electoral Commission Sporting Champions Labor History Quick Link