Dec 15, 2015

2015 Holt Community Spirit & Leadership Awards


41 students from 39 local schools were last night recognised at the 2015 Holt Community Spirit and Leadership Awards held at the Cranbourne Community Theatre.

The Awards ceremony, attended by over 200 people included award recipients, parents, teachers and family members was conducted by Anthony Byrne MP, Federal Member for Holt.

“These awards recognise the outstanding contribution made by the students and the difference their hard work and dedication has made to their schools and the wider community,’ said Mr Byrne.

“On Monday night we heard outstanding stories of students going above and beyond to help others including from Chelsea Dodos from Dandenong Valley School. Chelsea is always eager to help out other students in the classroom with jobs that they find difficult and has spent some time helping and working with the students and teachers in the early intervention program. She has shown great leadership skills by taking initiative with group activities and taking responsibility for many different tasks in the classroom and around the school. Chelsea also takes the time to meet new people and enjoys working with volunteers at school and out in the community,’ said Mr Byrne.

“There were many other impressive stories including from Haley Kelly from Cranbourne West Primary School. Hayley is a year 4 student who is actively involved in numerous clubs at school and is always the first to offer help to others. She is a Choir Captain and a Ukulele Mentor. Hayley has also been assisting with the Cranbourne West Primary School Breakfast and Brunch Club since she was three years old. Hayley assisted in making the sandwiches and doing the dishes. Now Hayley co-ordinates the emergency lunch program,” said Mr Byrne.

‘Another example was Angelo Leaupepe from Hallam Senior College. Angelo is a promising athlete, receiving a rookie contract with the Melbourne Storm. Despite numerous setbacks and injuries, Angelo has excelled as an athlete and devoted his time to training hard and using his gifts and abilities to serve his school and community, all while managing his final year of schooling and VCE. Angelo has also lad the Hallam Senior College Touch Football and Rugby Union 7’s to state finals. This earned Angelo the School’s Sportsperson of the year award. In addition, Angelo has assisted in organizing school events such as the school’s Multi-cultural Day,’ said Mr Byrne.

“The Holt Community Spirit & Leadership Awards is in its 14th year and is run annually to celebrate the positive contributions young people have made in the local community,’ said Mr Byrne.

“It was a great honour to present these awards on behalf of the community. I am very proud of the local community and the inspirational efforts of our kids who are making our community a better place,’ said Mr Byrne.

All award recipients received a framed certificate and a Village Cinemas voucher.

Media Enquires: Daniel White (03) 9796 7533.

Alkira Secondary College Nathanael Brindas
Casey Grammar School – Primary Tanysha Hogan
Casey Grammar School – Secondary Amber O’Donnell
Chalcot Lodge Primary School Kaelen MacKinnon
Coral Park Primary School Naomi Huynh
Courtney Gardens Primary School Layla Hargreaves
Cranbourne East Primary School Rhys Bryant
Cranbourne Park Primary School Anna Sorensen
Cranbourne Primary School Joel Miller
Cranbourne Secondary College Koro Sofaa
Cranbourne Secondary College Paige Sutherland
Cranbourne West Primary School Hayley Kelly
Dandenong Valley School Chelsea Dodos
Doveton College Judith Te’O
Fountain Gate Primary School Ataylia Melkic
Fountain Gate Secondary College Charlotte Mager
Gleneagles Secondary College Georgia Kristalyn
Hallam Primary School Nikitha Ramkumar
Hallam Senior College Angelo Leaupepe
Hampton Park Primary School Jasmin Crutchley
Hampton Park Secondary College Rebecca Wilson
James Cook Primary School Kaelan Lazaro
Kilberry Valley Primary School Teodora Bingula
Lynbrook Primary School Claudia Berke
Lyndhurst Primary School Ben Tawharu
Lyndhurst Secondary College Michael Stapleton
Marnebek School Cranbourne Daniel Woods
Mary MacKillop Primary School Alyssa Breeden
Mossgiel Park Primary School Shakelea Ringdahl
Narre Warren South P-12 College Adam Williams
Narre Warren South P-12 College Sitarah Mohammadi
Nossal High School Madeline Spooner
Rangebank Primary School Kayla Patrick
River Gum Primary School James Fisher
Southern Cross Primary School Safaa Rahmani
St Agatha’s Primary School Alana Manoj
St Catherine’s Primary School Keane Noronha
St Kevin’s Primary School Taylah Harvey
St Paul Apostle South Primary School Ben Abraham
Strathaird Primary School Joshua Jenkins
Thomas Mitchell Primary School Paris Dudfield.


Quick Links

Quick Link Quick Link Nation Building Australian Electoral Commission Sporting Champions Labor History Quick Link