Dec 16, 2016

2016 Holt Community Spirit & Leadership Awards


45 students from 41 local schools were last night recognised at the 2016 Holt Community Spirit and Leadership Awards held at the Cranbourne Community Theatre.

The Awards ceremony, attended by over 200 people included award recipients, parents, teachers and family members was conducted by Anthony Byrne MP, Federal Member for Holt.

“These awards recognise the outstanding contribution made by the students and the difference their hard work and dedication has made to their schools and the wider community,’ said Mr Byrne.

“On Monday night we heard outstanding stories of students going above and beyond to help others including a student whose passion for orang-utans and other endangered species has seen her hold numerous fundraisers and participate in fun runs and walks during her time at primary school. In 2014, she travelled to Borneo where she visited orang-utan sanctuaries and rehabilitation centres. Whilst in Borneo, she was given the opportunity to participate in a ‘Ranger for a Day’ program, working with orphaned orang-utans, assisting with feeding and other activities. Since returning, she has joined petitions to help support mandatory labelling of palm oil, as well as giving talks at school assemblies and in the classroom. She has raised funds to purchase 40 hectares of protected forest habitat for endangered species in Borneo and Sumatra. She recently adopted two orang-utans, Rahayu and Chocolate, through the Orang-utan Project,’ said Mr Byrne.

‘There were many other impressive stories including a student who collaborated with the Student Voice leadership team to introduce the CESC Breakfast Club. The Breakfast Club is held two days per week and students are proud to provide a nourishing breakfast to 40-60 people at each session. His dedication to the Breakfast Club (along with his reliability, persistence and hard work) has inspired other students and staff at the school,’ said Mr Byrne.

“The Holt Community Spirit & Leadership Awards is in its 15th year and is run annually to celebrate the positive contributions young people have made in the local community,’ said Mr Byrne.

“It was a great honour to present these awards on behalf of the community. I am very proud of the local community and the inspirational efforts of our kids who are making our community a better place,’ said Mr Byrne.

All award recipients received a framed certificate and a Village Cinemas voucher.

Media Enquires: Daniel White (03) 9796 7533.


Alkira Secondary College Justin Coleman
Casey Grammar School Bradley Harris
Chalcot Lodge Primary School Maleisha Fernando
Coral Park Primary School Aaron Konwalow
Courtney Gardens Primary School Bianca Buckley
Cranbourne Carlisle Primary School Brooke Galley
Cranbourne East Primary School Prabhu Annavai Prabhakar
Cranbourne East Secondary College Bailey Smith
Cranbourne Park Primary School Haylee Phillips
Cranbourne Primary School Maali Albert
Cranbourne Secondary College Neil Reilly
Cranbourne West Primary School Remi Minto
Dandenong Valley School Rai Miranda
Doveton College Karissa Peters
Doveton College Kimberly Dou
Fountain Gate Primary School Ed Moreno
Fountain Gate Secondary College Jasmine Gonzalez
Gleneagles Secondary College Anthony Clarke
Hallam Primary School Arnela Haisila
Hallam Senior College Sohaila Ahmadi
Hampton Park Primary School Victoria Kumari
Hillsmeade Primary School Kai Maas
James Cook Primary School Daniel Selimi
Kilberry Valley Primary School Yasara Abeysekara
Lynbrook Primary School Spencer Tarnok
Lyndhurst Primary School Charlotte Gruneklee-Smallman
Lyndhurst Secondary College Matthew Cooper
Marnebek School Cranbourne Kayla Damon
Mossgiel Park Primary School Sienna Volkoff
Narre Warren South P-12 College Sheza Malik
Narre Warren South P-12 College Garry Ford
Nossal High School Emily Lai
Rangebank Primary School Tayissah O’Donnell
Southern Cross Primary School Cooper Robertson
St Agatha’s Primary School Isabella Duiker
St Catherine’s Primary School Charlie Nelson
St Kevin’s Primary School Angana Santhosh Kumar
St Paul Apostle North Primary School Nandira Xavier
St Paul Apostle North Primary School Avantiika Singh
St Paul Apostle South Primary School Alessia Biondi
St Peter’s College Chloe Harbour
Strathaird Primary School Adele Carthew
Thomas Mitchell Primary School Lily-Rose Campbell
Waverley Christian College Leticia Riyanto
Waverley Christian College Garrett Munyard


Quick Links

Quick Link Quick Link Nation Building Australian Electoral Commission Sporting Champions Labor History Quick Link